CRG Qualifies For WFTDA Playoffs

The Women’s Flat Track Derby Association (WFTDA) has announced that the Cincinnati Rollergirls have qualified for the 2013 WFTDA Division 1 Playoffs in Fort Wayne, Indiana from Sept. 6 to 8 as the No. 8 seed. The tournament seeding reflects the June 30 WFTDA rankings, which were based on sanctioned bouts played through that date.

This marks the sixth year in a row that CRG has advanced to the playoffs. The team’s varsity squad, the Black Sheep, had an undefeated 2013 home season at the Cincinnati Gardens this year and hold a 9-3 record in sanctioned play as of July 2013.
The WFTDA Playoffs and Championships bring together the most talented, highly trained and committed skaters and officials from WFTDA member leagues to display the “Real, Strong, Athletic and Revolutionary” game play that pushes the limits of the sport worldwide. Whether participating on the track, cheering in the stands or watching online, the WFTDA tournaments provide everyone who loves roller derby an opportunity to witness the most anticipated match-ups of the year.
With a significant shift in the WFTDA competitive structure this year, the 2013 Playoffs will bring a new level of excitement as teams meet on the Playoffs track for the first time. In prior years, teams were seeded into WFTDA Playoffs based on geographic region. With the introduction of a WFTDA-wide rankings system this year, teams can end up playing opponents from anywhere in the world. There are seven teams that have qualified for Division 1 Playoffs for the first time.
The following teams will be joining Cincinnati in Fort Wayne Sept. 6 to 8 to compete for a shot at advancing to the WFTDA Championships in November. The top three teams from each of the four D1 Playoffs will attend Championships to compete for the sport’s highest honor: The Hydra trophy and the title of WFTDA Champions.
1. Denver Roller Dolls, Denver, CO, USA
2. Montréal Roller Derby, Montréal, QC, Canada
3. Arch Rival Roller Girls, Saint Louis, MO, USA
4. London Rollergirls, London, UK
5. Rose City Rollers, Portland, OR, USA
6. Ohio Roller Girls, Columbus, OH, USA
7. Wasatch Roller Derby, Salt Lake City, UT, USA
8. Cincinnati Rollergirls, Cincinnati, OH, USA
9. Bleeding Heartland Rollegirls, Bloomington, IN, USA
10. Grand Raggidy Roller Girls, Grand Rapids, MI, USA
For the playoff bracket and ticket information, click here.
The WFTDA Division 1 Playoffs and Championships offer five full weekends of full-contact competition. Learn how to join the action in Fort Wayne, Richmond, Asheville and Salem, and at the Championships in Milwaukee Nov. 8-10, at The two WFTDA Division 2 Playoffs will be held in August.
Those who can’t make the trip can still cheer on Cincinnati from home, via the WFTDA’s broadcast channel,!